Colombo- India beat Sri Lanka by 117 runs on the fifth and final day of the match at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) ground today.

India won the Cricbuzz Cup 2015 by sealing the series 2-1. The victory is also considered to be Virat Kohli’s first win as a Test captain.

After 22 years India has won a Test series win against Sri Lanka in the latter’s home ground.

In the first innings we noticed the comeback of Cheteshwar Pujara.

Pujara played a magnificent not out innings of 145 in 289 balls. His knock helped India to set a milestone of 312 in front of the Sri Lankan batting lineup.

Amit Mishra helped supported his side by scoring a brilliant 59.

Sri Lankan batting unit failed, as the India bowlers were right on their track.

Ishant Sharma took a 5 wickets haul.

Lankan’s only managed to score 201 in the first innings.

In the second innings, Lankan’s started of pretty well as Dhammika Prasad and Nuwan Pradeep were the star performers as they took 4 wickets each.

India somehow pushed the scoreboard to 274.

In reply Lankan’s star batting line up failed to tickle the board.

Angelo Mathews played a captain’s innings of 110 and debutant Kusal Perera frustrated the Indian bowlers by scoring 70.

Ishant Sharma sent Angelo back to the pavilion and completed 200 wickets in Tests.

Sri Lanka needed 386 to win but wickets in quick session took the victory from Sri Lanka on the fifth and the final day of the match.


India won the match by 117 runs

India won the series 2-1

Man of the Match: Cheteshwar Pujara

Man of the Series: Ravichandran Ashwin