This year on 15 August, India will celebrate its 70th Independence Day, a day when our ancestors became independent from foreign rule. It was not that easy for our people to fight against the dominant force of Britishers, but still, our first war of Independence (Indian Revolt of 1857) embedded deep in our Armed Forces who hail their origin from British East India Company.

Now in honour of our Defence Forces, we are starting a new series of articles, as "Know Your Defence Forces." In this series, we will attempt to present in-depth information about our brave people who are fighting for our sovereignty and integrity.

India has three major defence services, the army, navy and air force, who are tasked with protecting India's territorial sovereignty as well as combat attacks from foreign powers. Other than these three defence services, Indian coast guard, established on 18 August 1978 by the Coast Guard Act, 1978 is an independent armed force as well. It works in close alliance with the Indian Navy, the Department of Fisheries, the Department of Revenue (Customs), the Central and State police forces.

The Supreme Commander of all three armed services (the army, navy and air force) is the President of India. The Ministry of Defence manages the armed services under the Minister of Defence, who is a cabinet minister in the Union Government of India. With over 1.3 million active personnel and a budget of around $50 Billion annually, the three armed services of the Republic of India stands one of the best-equipped military forces in the world.

In next article, we will examine the history of the Indian Armed Forces in British India.